Monday, March 28, 2011

Forsythia

Forsythia flowering abundantly!

Sunday, March 27, 2011

A tour

Perfect weather for a tour!

(Heh I joined in the fun only at a slower pace and my tour was cycling to and fro :) ) Both sons joined in the real fun.

One became 2nd in his category and the other even won a price in his classification!

Unfortunately also an accident happened during this tour. The guy broke his jaw and had other minor injuries all over. Amazingly his bike didn't show a scratch!

Saturday, March 26, 2011

Time for Viola

Time to plant Viola in the pots around the house.

Tuesday, March 22, 2011

Taking a walk

Perfect weather to take the pony's for a walk! :)

Monday, March 21, 2011

Sunday, March 20, 2011

Spring in the park

Walking back to our car through the park I noted Spring is definitely around the corner! Greenery in the centre of Antwerp.

Saturday, March 19, 2011

Statue of Minerva

Statue of Minerva (goddess of wisdom and arts), near the Schelde, with in the background the tower of the Cathedral of Our Lady.

Friday, March 18, 2011

Rubens and the tower

Statue of Rubens (a famous baroque painter) and the tower of the Cathedral of Our Lady in the background.
According to my tourist guide a picture most tourists try to capture when in Antwerp.

Thursday, March 17, 2011

Big market square

This is the big market square in Antwerpen, with all its guild houses and the statue of Brabo.

This little hero was a sailor who was navigating his ship down the river Scheldt. He had planned to sail his ship past Antwerp with his cargo but there was an evil giant stopping every ship and demanding money to let them continue their journey. Brabo caught the giant, cut off the giant's hand and threw it in the water. This story explains where the name Antwerp comes from. "Hand werpen" in Flemish means "throwing a hand". Behind the statue of Brabo you can see the city hall. Closer look at the golden statues on the roof tops of the guild houses.
The other side of the square with more guild houses.

Wednesday, March 16, 2011

Rusty rings

Picture taken inside the courtyard of the Maagdenhuis in Antwerp. The Maagdenhuis used to be a girls orphanage. Nowadays it houses a collection of art and applied arts.

Tuesday, March 15, 2011

Outdoor seats

Another narrow passage with outdoor seats waiting for warmer days!

Monday, March 14, 2011

Narrow passage

In the centre of Antwerp we passed through these photogenic narrow passages!
Beautiful in their simplicity!

Sunday, March 13, 2011

Chocolate bath

This guy is relaxing in a chocolate bath for all to enjoy!

Saturday, March 12, 2011

Champagne bar

While in Antwerp we popped into this shopping arcade and what I liked most was the champagne bar! Imagine enjoying a glass of champagne on top of a huge, white bar looking like a champagne glass from below!

Friday, March 11, 2011

Antwerp train station

Approaching the beautiful Antwerp train station building.Not only the outside but even the inside of this building is mighty impressive!The station has four levels.
On the picture below you can see a train on the highest level (right side).

Thursday, March 10, 2011

Time for a waffle

Time for a Belgian waffle.

Wednesday, March 09, 2011

Shopping

We shopped (till we dropped) in Antwerp's main shopping street, the Meir.

Tuesday, March 08, 2011

Rubens house

First thing we visited in Antwerp was the Rubens house. We weren't allowed to take pictures inside but on the outside this house is fabulous too!

Monday, March 07, 2011

Spring break

In this Spring break we spent a night in this hotel in Antwerp. The rooms were fabulous and the breakfast buffet was delicious with loads of different choices!